(1984). Brems also explains that counsellors; must practice patience and accommodate a clients pace in counselling (Brems, 2001. p.21). A possible impact of diversity on the use of skills used in a counselling session could be that the speaker simply feels misunderstood or that the listener doesnt really understand them. I am a counseling psychologist from Kenya. This video describes how the different MicroSkills related to counseling align with each of the stages in the 5 stages interviewing model. For example, a behavioral approach may suggest engaging in activities designed to help the client alter their behavior. Your email address will not be published. attending, observing, and listening to the client. The counselor and client also work together in this component to establish their goals and expectations for the therapeutic relationship. Engage in relaxed social conversation to reduce anxiety. This may be an area where the listener looks inwardly at their own level of experience as a counsellor and examines their competence as to whether they need to refer the client on. Considering the context of the message sent. This includes the counsellor listening to silences as well as words, sitting with them and recognising that the silences may facilitate the counselling process. Among its benefits it enables a release of emotion / tension and creates a safe environment for collaborative problem solving. The first stage, exploration, involves helping the client examine his or her thoughts and feelings. The empathetic relationship stage begins during the first session and continues throughout the entire process. Jenny ended counseling overjoyed with her new preferred beliefs, along with a renewed sense of confidence and control over her life. Looking out for the various changes in the clients perception, emotions, values, well-being and thought content as a result of a triggering event or life phase. 1.3 Define The Following Skills Which Could Be Used In A Session. Th